Tom_SharpeTom Sharpe (March 30, 1928 – June 6, 2013) was an English satirical novelist, best known for his Wilt series, as well as Porterhouse Blue and Blott on the Landscape, which were all adapted for television.

Porterhouse Blue series

Porterhouse Blue (1974)

Porterhouse_Blue-1974The novel Porterhouse Blue is a satirical look at Cambridge life and the struggle between tradition and reform, Porterhouse Blue tells the story of Skullion, the Head Porter of a fictional Cambridge college, Porterhouse.

The novel itself has a sequel, Grantchester Grind, but Porterhouse Blue has a stand-alone plot.

Channel 4 created a TV series in 1987, starring David Jason as Skullion, which was based on the novel.

Grantchester Grind (1995)

Grantchester_Grind-1995Grantchester Grind follows on from the story of the fictitious Porterhouse College, Cambridge, started in the previous book, Porterhouse Blue.

Skullion is now the new Master of the College. The widow of the previous Master is investigating the death of her late husband.

Incidents from Ancestral Vices, another Tom Sharpe novel, are mentioned in crossover.

Wilt series

Wilt (1976)

Wilt is a comedic novel that follows Henry Wilt, a demoralised and professionally under-rated assistant lecturer who, after years of henpecking and harassment by his physically powerful but emotionally immature wife Eva, dreams of killing her in various gruesome ways. But a string of unfortunate events (including one involving an inflatable plastic female doll) start Henry on a farcical journey.

In 1989, London Weekend Television adapted the first book into a TV film starring Griff Rhys Jones and Mel Smith.

The original book was followed by four sequels, two of which were published in the 20th Century:

  • The Wilt Alternative (1979)
  • Wilt On High (1985)

Other novels

Blott on the Landscape (1975)

The Great Pursuit (1977)

The Throwback (1978)

Ancestral Vices (1980)

Vintage Stuff (1982)

The Midden (1996)

Television adaptations

Blott on the Landscape (1985)

Porterhouse Blue (1987)

Wilt (1989)