aActivated_StargateStargate is a science fiction media franchise based on the film written by Dean Devlin and Roland Emmerich. The franchise is based on the idea of an alien Einstein–Rosen bridge device (the Stargate) that enables nearly instantaneous travel across the cosmos. The franchise began with the film Stargate. In 1997, Brad Wright and Jonathan Glassner created a television series titled Stargate SG-1 as a sequel to the film. This show was joined by Stargate Atlantis (2004), Stargate Universe (2009), and a prequel web series, Stargate Origins (2018). Also consistent with the same story are a variety of books, video games and comic books, as well as the direct-to-DVD movies Stargate: The Ark of Truth (2008) and Stargate: Continuum (2008), which concluded the first television show after 10 seasons.

Stargate (1994) Stargate SG-1 (1997)

Stargate (1994)

  • Released October 28, 1994 (US); January 6, 1995 (UK)

It will take you a million light years from home. But will it bring you back?

StargateposterStargate is a science fiction adventure film. The plot centres on the premise of a “Stargate”, an ancient ring-shaped device that creates a wormhole enabling travel to a similar device elsewhere in the universe. The film’s central plot explores the theory of extraterrestrial beings having an influence upon human civilisation.

Notable cast

  • Kurt Russell as Colonel Jack O’Neil, a career U.S. Air Force Special Operations airman, who suffers a period of suicidal depression after his son accidentally shoots and kills himself with O’Neil’s own pistol. When his commission is reactivated, he willingly enters the Stargate, fully aware that he will likely not survive to return to Earth.
  • James Spader as Dr. Daniel Jackson, an archaeologist and linguist, who finds little acceptance of his theory that the Great Pyramid of Giza was not built by the pharaohs of the Fourth Dynasty.
  • Jaye Davidson as Ra, a powerful alien in human form. After voyaging across the universe, searching for a new host that could sustain his dying body, Ra took the form of a curious adolescent boy and enslaved the people of his planet (Earth). Using a Stargate, he transported people from Earth to another planet (where much of the film is set) until the humans on Earth rebelled and buried their Stargate.

Stargate SG-1 (1997)

  • First aired July 27, 1997 (US); April 1, 1998 (UK)

Unlock The Universe


Stargate SG-1 (often abbreviated as SG-1) is a Canadian-American military science fiction adventure television series and part of the Stargate franchise. The show is based on the science fiction film Stargate (1994).  With 214 episodes over ten seasons, Stargate SG-1 had surpassed The X-Files as the longest-running North American science fiction television series, until it was surpassed by the series Smallville in 2011.

The story of Stargate SG-1 begins about a year after the events of the feature film, when the United States government learns that an ancient alien device called the Stargate can access a network of such devices on a multitude of planets. SG-1 is an elite United States Air Force special operations team, one of about 20 teams from Earth who explore the galaxy and defend against alien threats such as the Goa’uld, the Replicators and the Ori. The series draws primarily upon Egyptian mythology, Greek mythology, Norse mythology and Arthurian legend.

The character of Colonel Jack O’Neill, portrayed by Kurt Russell in the film, is played by Richard Dean Anderson (MacGyver).