BBC One is the flagship television channel of the British Broadcasting Corporation in the United Kingdom, Isle of Man and Channel Islands. The channel is funded by the television licence fee together with the BBC’s other domestic television stations, and therefore shows uninterrupted programming without commercial advertising. It is currently the most watched television channel in the United Kingdom, ahead of its traditional rival for ratings leadership, ITV.

The BBC Television Service officially began regular broadcasts from a converted wing of the Alexandra Palace in London. BBC TV/BBC1 was based at the purpose-built BBC Television Centre at White City, London between 1960 and 2013.

  • November 2, 1936: Launched as the BBC Television Service.
  • September 1, 1939: The BBC Television Service was taken off the air at short notice two days before Britain’s declaration of war against Germany. The government was concerned that the VHF transmissions would act as a beacon to enemy aircraft homing in on London.
  • June 7, 1946: The BBC Television Service returned to the airwaves, almost starting where it left off, with announcer Jasmine Bligh, and a Mickey Mouse cartoon.
  • October 8, 1960: Renamed BBC TV.
  • April 20, 1964: Became BBC 1 upon the launch of sister channel BBC 2.
  • November 15, 1969: Simultaneously with ITV, and two years after BBC 2, BBC 1 officially began colour programming with a concert by Petula Clark.
  • December 30, 1980: The BBC announced their intention to introduce a new breakfast television service to compete with TV-am.
  • January 17, 1983: The first edition of Breakfast Time was shown on BBC 1.
  • February 18, 1985: BBC 1 was relaunched with a new look.
  • September 9, 1985: The long-standing children’s programming block was overhauled and rebranded as Children’s BBC, which gave it dedicated idents for the first time and had a live in-vision presenter, similar to rival ITV’s Children’s ITV block which had been running since January 1983.
  • October 4, 1997: Rebranded as BBC One.


Click on each ident to see variations

Dec 2, 1953-Oct, 1960

Oct, 1960-Sep 29, 1963

Oct 30, 1963-Apr 20, 1964

Apr 21, 1964-Apr 17, 1966

Apr 18-Jun 5, 1966

Jun 6, 1966-Jul 6, 1968

Jul 7, 1968-Nov 14, 1969

Nov 15, 1969-1972


1974-Sep 4, 1981

Sep 5, 1981-Feb 18, 1985

Feb 18, 1985-Feb 15, 1991

Feb 16, 1991-Oct 3, 1997

Oct 4, 1997-Mar 28, 2002