January 17, 1970: Sinn Féin founded

Sinn_Féin (1905/1970-), logo
Sinn_Féin (1905/1970-), logo

Sinn Féin is a left-wing Irish republican political party active in both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. Sinn Féin are also the only party that may be elected to the Oireachtas, Northern Ireland Executive & Westminster.

The original Sinn Féin organisation was founded on November 28, 1905 by Arthur Griffith. It took its current form on January 17, 1970 after a split within the party (with the other side becoming the Workers’ Party of Ireland) and has historically been associated with the Provisional Irish Republican Army (IRA).

Sinn Féin is the largest nationalist party in the Northern Ireland Assembly, and the joint-largest overall (alongside the Democratic Unionist Party); it had four ministerial posts in the most recent power-sharing Northern Ireland Executive. It holds seven of Northern Ireland’s 18 seats—the second-largest bloc after the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP)—at Westminster, where it follows a policy of abstentionism, refusing to attend parliament or vote on bills. It is the third-largest party, and the largest party on the left, in the Oireachtas, the parliament of the Republic of Ireland.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.